top of page

Veranstaltungen

Einer der vielen Vorteile meiner griechischen Erziehung war, dass ich früh lernte, mich in politischen Diskussionen am Tisch einzubringen, und dies auf charismatische Weise. Gerne nehme ich als Expertin an Ihrer Veranstaltung oder ihrem Training teil. Meine Spezialgebiete:

Feministische Aussenpolitik

Feminismus und sein ewiges Pendant, der Anti-Feminismus, sowie der gegenwärtige Backlash gegen Gleichstellung

Autoritarismus: einerseits in Bezug auf konsolidierte Regime und ihre Unterwanderung durch soziale Bewegungen, andererseits in Bezug auf autoritäre Tendenzen in Demokratien, die beispielsweise von Rechtspopulist*innen geschürt werden.

Das ehemals kommunistische Europe mit Fokus auf Russland und Serbien und umfangreichem Wissen zu Belarus und zur Ukraine

Konfliktstudien und Friedensförderung mit Schwerpunkt auf feministischen Visionen von Sicherheit und Demilitarisierung sowie Zusammenhängen zwischen Männlichkeiten und geschlechterbasierter Gewalt in Friedens- und Konfliktzeiten

20/01/23

P1011181.jpg
Winterrede zu Anti-Feminismus in Russland

Im Rahmen der Winterreden 2023 im Zürcher Kulturzentrum Karl*a der*die Grosse hielt ich eine 20 minütige Rede zum Thema "eine feministische Analyse als Antwort auf autoritäre Aggression". Die Rede kann nachgelesen oder nachgehört werden.

08/12/22

Feministische Aussenpolitik auch für die Schweiz_ Ein Sondierungsgespräch am cercle des do
Sondierungsgespräch zu feministischer Aussenpolitik

alliance f lud mich zum cercle des donatrice ein, um gemeinsam mit GLP Ständerätin Tiana Angelina Moser und der Diplomatin Flavia von Meiss über die Möglichkeit einer feministischen Aussenpolitik für die Schweiz zu diskutiert. Moderiert wurde das Gespräch von Dr.in Katja Gentinetta.

18/11/22

b97503b3-fb7d-4a0f-baf0-4ee9199ebb59.jpg
Kick off Forschungsnetzwerk Gender & Politologie

Mit Dr.in Elizabeth Mesok habe ich dieses Netzwerk gegründet, um feministische Wissenschaftler*innen miteinander zu verbinden und sichtbarer zu machen. Wir haben die Gruppe mit einer Podiumsdiskussion zu Anti-Feminismus und zwei Gastreferentinnen, Dr.in Stefanie Boulila und PRof.in Elisabeth Prügl lanciert. 

25/10/22

IMG_2859.jpeg
Gastreferat

Frauen für den Frieden ist eine der ältesten feministischen Organisationen in der Schweiz. Ich habe an ihrer Herbstversammlungen ein Gastreferat zu feministischer Aussenpolitik gehalten und kleiner Arbeitsgruppen geleitet.

25/10/22

Screenshot 2022-11-09 at 22.03.01.png
feministischer salon Basel

Auf einem Panel zu Männlichkeit, Militarismus und Pazifismus, moderiert von Franziska Schutzbach, trat ich nebem Prof.in Annick Wibben, Markus Theunert von maenner.ch und Natalina Haller von young WILPF Schweiz als Russlandexpertin auf. 

26/08/22

cropped-fem-logo-2_edited.jpg
Online Impuls

Als Vorbereitung für die Studienreise nach Polen werde ich einen dreistündigen Workshop für die Teilnehmenden aus Deutschland und der Schweiz am Lehrgang der feministischen Fakultät halten.

18/08/22

IMG-20220818-WA0009.jpg
Rundtisch

Gemeinsam mit Dr.in Dana Landau habe ich einen Rundtisch zur Ukraine und dem Westbalkan organisiert, wo wir neben Dr. Adis Mrdzanovic und Nikola Buric auch als Speakerinnen mit dabei waren. Die Diskussion wurde von Adelina Gashi moderiert und fand bei swisspeace statt. 

08/08/22

ilanzer Sommer.jpg
Ilanzer Sommer

Auf einem Expert*innenpanel auf dem Friedensforum Ilanzer Sommer habe ich zum Krieg in der Ukraine, seinen Konsequenzen und der Rolle der Schweiz sowie der Zivilgesellschaft gesprochen. 

29/04/22

SRF Club zur neuen Phase im Krieg in der Ukraine
SRF Club

Ich wurde als Russlandexpertin in den SRF Club zur neuen Phase im Ukrainekrieg eingeladen. Mit dabei war u.a. der ehem. OSZE Generalsekretär, Thomas Greminger.

19/04/22

ukraineWall.jpg
Podiumsdiskussion

Gemeinsam mit Dr. Alex Bollfrass vom CSS der EZH Zürich hab ich die Gründe und Auswirkungen des Ukrainekrieges eingeschätzt. Die Diskussion wurde von Reatch organisiert.

21/03/22

SRF Club Kriegsverbrechen.jpg
SRF Club

In der Club Ausgabe zu Kriegsverbrechen in der Ukraine trat ich als Expertin für Russland und geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt auf. Mit dabei war u.a. auch UNO Sonderbeauftragter für Folter, Nils Melzer.

07/03/22

Screenshot 2022-03-20 at 12.47.40.png
Kosmopolitics

Gemeinsam mit der Reporterin Anna Jikhareva und der Historikerin Olha Martynyuk war ich auf einem WOZ Panel und habe versucht, den Krieg in der Ukraine einzuordnen und friedliche Lösungen aufzuzeigen.

12/08/21

1638978957711.jpg
Gastvorlersung

Prof. Eléonore Lépinard hat mich eingeladen, eine Gastvorlesung in ihrem Kurs Menschenrechte und Gleichstellung zu halten. Ich habe die feministischen, anti-militaristischen Ursprünge hinter der UNO Frauen, Frieden, Sicherheit Agenda behandelt und wie diese Agenda umgesetzt wird (oder nicht).

05/11/21

1636208332548.jpg

Meine Dissertation erhielt eine ehrenhafte Nennung der Schweizerischen Gesellschaft für Geschlechterforschung dank ihrer "ausserordentlichen politischen Relevanz für transnationalen Feminismus". Die SGGF verleiht eine solche Auszeichnung erst zum zweiten Mal.

Brigitte Schnegg Preis Zeremonie

29-30/10/21

2110130_Frauensession0695.jpg
Frauensession

Ich war eine von 246 gewählten Frauen, die an der 2. historischen Frauensession teilnahmen. Gemeinsam haben wir die Forderungen von Frauen 50 Jahre nach dem Frauenstimmrecht unterstrichen und ich habe die Gelegenheit genutzt, über Feministische Aussenpolitik zu sprechen.

28/08/21

239929675_10224272966826365_1580849078323584114_n.jpg
Rendez-vous

Reatch hat ein Rendez-Vous zwischen Forschenden und der breiten Öffentlichkeit organisiert. Ich hatte einen Stand zum Thema Feminismus, Demokratie und Friedensförderung.

28/04/21

cropped-fem-logo-2_edited.jpg
Vortrag

Ich wurde von der feministischen Fakultät eingeladen, meine Forschung zum anti-Gender Rückschlag und Autoritarismus vorzustellen. Die fem. Fak! hat zum Ziel, feministische Wissenschaft zugänglicher zu machen.

03/03/21

Screen Shot 2021-03-05 at 19.45.39.png
Vortrag

Im Monat der Frankophonie hielt ich eine Gastvorlesung zum 50-jährigen Jubiläumen des Frauenstimmrechts an der Universität Comenius (Slowakei). Ich danke dem Institut Français & der Schweizer Botschaft in Bratislava für die Gelegenheit!

17/02/21

Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 11.16.52.png
Speakerin

Ich sprach über meine Forschung, meine Erfahrung in Oxford und den Weg, den ich seither eingeschlagen habe auf einer Veranstaltung des Alumni Vereins Schweizer Freund*innen der Universität Oxford.

28/01/21

ba812ed1-dd46-4dbc-b1a6-cca6c702573c.jpg
Podiumsrednerin

Ich referierte neben Dr. Lucy Wooding und Eirian Yem in meiner alma mater, Lincoln College der Universität Oxford, darüber, warum Geschlechterforschung gerade heute wichtig ist.

11/12/20

Screen Shot 2020-12-16 at 00.27.09.png
Referat

Ich hatte die Freude, vom Gender Zentrum des Geneva Graduate Institut eingeladen zu werden und meine Dissertation vorrzutragen.

bottom of page

top of page

Events

One of the many benefits of my Greek upbringing is that I learnt to speak up early - and charismatically. If you look for an expert for your event or training, I will happily contribute. My areas of expertise:

Feminist foreign policy

Feminism and its eternal pendant: anti-feminism as well as the current backlash against gender equality

 

Authoritarianism, both in terms of consolidated regimes and their subversion by social movements as well as rising authoritarian tendencies promoted by right-wing populists in democracies

Former communist Europe with a focus on Russia and Serbia and extensive knowledge on Belarus and Ukraine

Security, conflict and peace with emphasis on feminist visions of security, demilitarisation and how different masculinities relate to sexual and gender-based violence

18/10/23

Karl der Grosse

In light of the upcoming Swiss elections, I was invited on a roundtable on the topic "Are the People the Sovereign?" Together with Prof. Helen Keller, Mano Khalil and facilitated by Linda Sulzer, we discussed nation-building, minority rights, the rise of populism and citizens' role and margin in it.

F8BED5DD-AE85-411B-9BAC-F752657BF0E7.jpeg

05/10/23

Theater Basel

As part of Wagner's Ring being shown at Theater Basel, Jonas Gillmann and Marcel Schwald curated four late night talks with one invited guest. At this occasion, I spoke about the rise of authoritarianism, how it connects to anti-feminism and my impressions from my recent trip to Belgrade in terms of citizens' sense of their political agency.

Theater Basel mit Jonas Gillmann und Marcel Schwald

26/05/23

The Swiss think tank Denknetz organised a panel on the new feminist wave in Switzerland. Together with Elisabeth Joris, Xenia Wassihun, Anna-Beatrice Schmaltz and Nadja Mosimann we talked about the impact of the feminist strike(s), our personal relation to it and the counter-reactions against and challenges for this new feminist movement.

Denknetz Panel

06/03/23

A73CCA06-6277-4E55-B6C1-8505F8B3C469_1_105_c_edited.jpg
Maison Heinrich Heine Panel

Together with Magali Lafourcade, French National consultative Commission for Human Rights, SciencesPo researcher Maxime Forest and prof. Uta Ruppert we discussed whether feminist foreign policy in France and Germany was a slogan or reality. It was organised by Maison Heinrich Heine and moderated by Spiegel Paris Chef, Britta Sandberg.

19/02/23

Munich Security Conference Side Event.jpeg
Munich Security Conference

The Centre for Feminist Foreign Policy (CFFP), International Civil Action Network (ICAN) and the German Foreign Policy Council organised a side event on strongmen and anti-feminism. I spoke on the panel next to Chief Foreign Affairs Correspondent of the FT, Gideon Rachman and ICAN founder, Sanam Anderlini. The discussion was moderated by CFFP co-founder, Kristina Lunz.

17/02/23

0F853CB6-C19B-4116-AF69-FC4CD574DF87.jpeg
Young Scholar Award Ceremony

I am the proud recipient of the Young Scholar 2022 Prize, awarded by the Walter Benjamin Kolleg of the University of Bern. On the occasion of the ceremony, I organised a panel on feminist and civil society's perspectives on the war against Ukraine with documentary filmmaker, Lesia Kordonets, East European historian, Carmen Scheide and Melanie Pfändler as moderator.

8C0D6B22-D8A7-43A7-9E5E-7EE632A3C81A.jpeg

20/01/23

P1011181.jpg
Speech on anti-feminism in Russia

As part of their series Winter Speeches, I was invited by the cultural centre Karl*a der*die Grosse in Zurich to hold a 20min speech from their window onto a public square. I delivered a "feminist analysis as a response to authoritarian aggression". You can listen to or read the speech.

08/12/22

Feministische Aussenpolitik auch für die Schweiz? Ein Sondierungsgespräch am cercle des do
Panel on feminist foreign policy for Switzerland

alliance f organised a panel discussion for their donors in which we discussed the possibility of a feminist foreign policy for Switzerland together with green-liberal politician Tiana Angelina Moser and diplomat Flavia von Meiss, faciliatated by Dr. Katja Gentinetta.

18/11/22

b97503b3-fb7d-4a0f-baf0-4ee9199ebb59.jpg
Launch of research network Gender & Political Science

Dr. Elizabeth Mesok and I co-founded this research network to connect feminist political scientists and make our research more visible. We launched the netowrk with a public roundtable on anti-feminism with guest speaker Dr. Stefanie Boulila and Prof. Elisabeth Prügl.

16/11/22

IMG_2859.jpeg
Guest lecture

Women for Peace is one of the oldest feminist organisations in Switzerland.  For their annual meeting I held a lecture on feminist foreign policy and organised world cafés on different aspects of FFP.

25/10/22

Screenshot 2022-11-09 at 22.03.01.png
feministischer salon Basel

I featured next to Prof. Annick Wibben, Markus Theunert from maenner.ch and Natalina Haller from young WILPF Siwtzerland on a panel on masculinities, militarism and pacifism that was moderated by Franziska Schutzbach.

22/08/22

cropped-fem-logo-2_edited.jpg
Online lecture

As a preparation for the study trip to Poland, I will lead a 3h workshop on the anti-feminist backlash in Eastern Europe for the Swiss and German participants of the course at  the feminist faculty Switzerland

18/08/22

IMG-20220818-WA0009.jpg
Roundtable

Organised together with Dr. Dana Landau a roundtable discussion on Ukraine and the Westbalkan where we also featured as speakers alongside Dr. Adis Merdzanovic and Nikola Buric. The discussion was facilitated by Adelina Gashi and hosted at swisspeace.

08/08/22

ilanzer Sommer.jpg
Sommer in Ilanz

Spoke on an expert panel at the peace forum Ilanz on the implications of the war in Ukraine for Europe and the role Switzerland and civil society play. 

29/04/22

SRF Club zur neuen Phase im Krieg in der Ukraine
SRF Club

I brought my expertise in Russian authoritarianism to the debate on the new phase in the war in Ukraine hosted by the Swiss public broadcaster.

19/04/22

ukraineWall.jpg
Panel debate

Together with Dr. Alex Bolfass from CSS ETH Zurich we analysed the historical origins of the invasion of Ukraine and its implications for peace and security on a panel hosted by Reatch.

21/03/22

SRF Club Kriegsverbrechen.jpg
SRF Club

In a debate format on war crimes in Ukraine, hosted by the Swiss public broadcaster, I featured as an expert on Russia and gender-based violence.

07/03/22

Screenshot 2022-03-20 at 12.47.40.png
Kosmopolitics

Together with reporter Anna Jikhareva and historian Olha Martynyuk, I featured on a WOZ panel on Ukraine that tried to make sense of the war and discuss paths to peace.

08/12/21

1638978957711.jpg
Guest Lecture

Prof. Eléonore Lépinard invited me to hold a guest lecture in her course Human Rights and Gender Equality. I covered the history of feminist anti-militarist struggles and how they led to the historic UN Women, Peace and Security agenda and how that agenda is implemented (or not).

05/11/21

1636208332548.jpg

My DPhil thesis was awarded an honorable mention by the Swiss Association for Gender Studies because of its "particular political relevance for transnational feminism". It is only the second time SAGS gives such an award.

Brigitte Schnegg Prize Ceremony

29-30/10/21

2110130_Frauensession0695.jpg
Women's parliament

I was one the 246 women who got elected to participate in the 2nd historic women only parliamentary session which was organised to showcase women's demands 50 years after we earned suffrage. I used the opportunity to speak about Feminist Foreign Policy.

28/08/21

239929675_10224272966826365_1580849078323584114_n.jpg
Science rendez-vous

Reatch organised a event where the general public and pupils could learn more about science and gender. I held a booth on how feminism interacts with democarcy and peacebuilding

28/04/21

cropped-fem-logo-2_edited.jpg
Lecture

I held a lecture on my doctoral research on the anti-gender backlash in authoritarian regimes at the feminist faculty Switzerland, an association with the aim to make feminist knowledge more widely accessible.

03/03/21

Screen Shot 2021-03-05 at 19.45.39.png
Lecture

In the month of the Francophonie I had the pleasure to hold a guest lecture on 50th years women suffrage in Switzerland at the University of Comenius (Slovakia). I thank the Institut Français & the Swiss Embassy in Bratislava for the opportunity!

17/02/21

Screen Shot 2021-02-12 at 11.16.52.png
Guest speaker

I spoke about my research and my experience at Oxford, the personal trajectory that brought me there as well as the path I have taken since at the alumni Assocation Swiss Friends of Oxford University.

28/01/21

ba812ed1-dd46-4dbc-b1a6-cca6c702573c.jpg
Panelist

I was invited to speak alongside Dr. Lucy Wooding and Eirian Yem at my alma mater, Lincoln College, Oxford, about why the study of gender matters today.

12/11/20

Screen Shot 2020-12-16 at 00.27.09.png
Presentation

I had the pleasure to present my finished DPhil thesis at the Gender Centre of the Geneva Graduate Institute.

bottom of page